Lacock Abbey, in the village of Lacock, Wiltshire, was founded in 1232 and served as a nunnery until it was converted into a country house in 1540.
A lot of work had gone into the window above the entrance door.
The Gothic Arch
led to the Stable courtyard
with its quirky Tudor clockhouse,
bakehouse and brewery.
We spent some time wandering through the fascinating rooms. They may look familiar if you have seen the Harry Potter films, particularly the medieval cloisters.
The internal cloister courtyard had a certain tranquility.
The Warming Room was the only room in the original Abbey where any warmth was provided and the 500 year old cauldron remains.
The Chaplain’s Room had a 14th century doorway and remnants of a medieval wall painting.
The valuables of the Abbey would have been housed in the Sacristy.
The Chapter House windows were stunning.
We strolled around the grounds, admiring the Abbey from all angles.
It would have been nice to have seen more of Lacock village – maybe next time.
what a wonderful place !
What a gorgeous place.